6 Hall of Fame Players Announced

Image Rights - NRL.com

It was announced tonight on NRL 360 that 6 more players would be joining the NRL Hall of Fame. These 6 players have had incredible careers, and the majority have gone on to have great careers within Rugby League in one form or another. Without further ado, the 6 players are:

Ricky Stuart - The Canberra Raiders legend, both as a player and now as a coach, played 243 games for the Raiders and the Bulldogs, winning 3 premierships as well as winning the Dally M Medal in 1993. He would be a 2 time halfback of the year, as well as winning 3 Origin series and playing 9 tests for Australia. 

Petero Civoniceva - A stalwart for the Brisbane Broncos and the Penrith Panthers, he would go on to play 309 NRL games for the two teams as well as 33 games for Queensland and 51 tests for Australia. The centre turned prop would also play 6 tests for Fiji in a storied career before retiring from the NRL in 2012.

Gordon Tallis - The Brisbane Broncos enforcer turned Triple M commentator had a magnificent career spanning just over 200 games for both Brisbane and St George. He would also play 20 games for Queensland and 18 games for Australia. A member of the Broncos Hall of Fame club, Tallis would win 3 premierships before retiring in 2004 after the season.

Steve Menzies - The man known as Beaver, the Manly cult hero played 349 games for the Sea Eagles venture between the NRL and Super League years. Never mind his status in the UK while playing for Bradford and Catalans, Menzies would score the third most tries as of current time in a magnificent career. He would win a premiership in his final game, a 40-0 drubbing of Melbourne, scoring in the last few minutes in a fitting way to end his time in Australia.

Cliff Lyons - Another Manly legend, he would play 332 games for Manly and North Sydney, winning the premiership twice as well as the Dally M Medal twice. The combination with Beaver Menzies would prove to be lethal, with Manly dominating while those two were together. One does not talk about Manly without mentioning Cliff Lyons. 

 Mark Graham - A man of great stature, he would play 149 games for the North Sydney Bears, as well as nearly 30 games for the New Zealand Kiwis. He would trample defenses consistently in a time that North Sydney weren't having a lot of success, playing with a lot of gusto and just hammering teams left right and centre. He was named the NZ player of the century from 1907 to 2006.

Congratulations to these 6 players on their upcoming induction into the Hall of Fame.



Popular posts from this blog

Manly Rookie charged with Intentionally Filming Sex Act

Nath’s Monday Signings and Rumours

Rhinos Lose Out After Controversial Call